Chair of Technical Design and Production/Director of Production

New Haven, Connecticut
Competitive salary with full faculty benefits
Dec 22, 2016
Jan 21, 2017
Position Type
Full Time
Degree Level
Experience Level

Yale School of Drama seeks to appoint a senior faculty member to teach, oversee faculty and curriculum, recruit students, and serve in an administrative capacity for the nation’s leading three-year conservatory MFA technical design and production program.  Position also serves as Director of Production for Yale Repertory Theatre. 

Applicants should have demonstrated leadership in the field with at least ten years of combined experience of professional work in the theater at an advanced level and distinguished teaching in the field. Position requires advanced interpersonal, communication, strategic thinking, prioritization, time-management, and problem solving skills, with a strongly demonstrated commitment to safe working practices in the entertainment industry. Experience of, ability to promote, and commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion in all areas of operations required.

The appointment will be as an Associate Professor Adjunct or Professor in the Practice of Technical Design and Production for an initial term of up to three (3) years, beginning July 1, 2017, renewable, and includes competitive salary with full faculty benefits. 

To Apply:

Send resume, cover letter, and 3 letters of reference to:

Chair, TD&P Chair Search Committee

Yale School of Drama

P.O. Box 208244

New Haven, CT  06520-8244

or email

Yale University is committed to creating a diverse and inclusive environment and considers applicants for employment without regard to—and does not discriminate on the basis of—an individual’s sex, race, color, religion, age, disability, status as a veteran, or national or ethnic origin; nor does Yale discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity or expression. Yale is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer.

Review of applications will begin January 9, 2017.